HIST 152: Overview

A guide to help students in History 152.

Library Quick Links

Ask a Librarian
You can chat with a librarian during regular business hours, set up an appointment with a librarian or email a question.
Book Now!
A direct link to the Library's services and spaces schedule
Hours
Get the latest information on the library's hours.

Citation Generator
Citation Machine can help you prepare your bibliography in Chicago format.
Assignment Calculator
From the University of Connecticut - this tool can help you develop a timeline for your project.

Research is a process. It can take more time and effort than simply plugging a few keywords into Google and taking the top three hits.

Work broad to narrow. Gain an overview of your topic before you delve deep
Always "be researching" -- Look carefully at what your sources are telling you; use them to guide your research.
Bibliographic Mining -- Examine the bibliography of secondary sources to find primary and other sources to help you.
The Librarians are here to help you.

How Do I Write a History Paper?
Advice for putting getting started on a History paper covering selecting a topic and conducting preliminary research.

Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?
From Cornell University, this quick guide offers defining characteristics of an annotated bib. as well as its difference with an abstract.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography (Skidmore College)
Includes sections on elements, structure and examples of writing an annotated bibliographies.
Citation Quick Guide - Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
Example citations for the notes and bibliography style. Sample notes show full citations followed by shortened forms that would be used after the first citation. Sample bibliography entries follow the notes.
OWL Purdue - Chicago Manual of Style
Includes general information about Chicago style as well as examples of citations for various source formats (e.g. book, article, web source, etc.) and a sample paper in Chicago style.