ABIT Capstone: Research Resources

Recommended Research Guides

Citing Sources
by Maui College Librarians Last Updated Nov 30, 2021 197 views this year
Business, Industry, and Company Research
by Maui College Librarians Last Updated Jan 11, 2022 2 views this year
Researching Statistics
by Maui College Librarians Last Updated Oct 18, 2020 4 views this year
Researching Local Topics
by Maui College Librarians Last Updated Oct 30, 2023 338 views this year
Google Search Tips
by Maui College Librarians Last Updated Jan 12, 2018 28 views this year

See also:

A to Z Database List

Back to all guides

Finding articles from library databases

Business databases:

Business Source Complete
Magazine and journal articles on business, management, economics, and more.
Small Business Resource Center
Trade publications, magazines, and reports addressing a wide range of small business topics.
All EBSCO databases by subject

The ABIT program includes an interdisciplinary liberal arts focus, which means you can find useful research articles, background information, and data in a variety of databases.

Social science and humanities databases:

Science Direct
Science, social science, and humanities research journal articles. Includes tools to analyze article impact and influence.
JSTOR
Journal articles in the arts and sciences. Some coverage of Hawaiiʻi historical topics from journals dating back to the late 1800ʻs.

See also:

Google Scholar
Consult the Using Google Scholar page for instructions on accessing the full-text articles via the UHMC Library databases, extracting citations, and using advanced search to search authors and geographic locations.

Finding statistics and data

To find market research data, consult:

Statista
data from businesses, government departments, or market research associations. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries. Use the infographics features to communicate your topic visually.

To find Hawaii and US statistics and data, consult the Statistics topic page.

Mendeley

What is Mendeley?

Mendeley is a free tool that enables you to manage citations and PDFs using a desktop client or through your account on mendeley.com. Mendeley also includes plugins for Word or OpenOffice, so you can easily create citations and/or bibliographies as you write your papers.

What makes Mendeley unique is that it enables you to leverage the power of social networking to create a global citation management network. Use Mendeley to connect with other researchers in your field and discover what they are reading. Recommended for large or multiple research projects and group projects.

Getting help with Mendeley: